Awards/Appointments/Places in News July 2016

Satya Pal Jain

  • Satya Pal Jain appointed as part-time member of the Law Commission of India on June 11, 2016.
  • Earlier, he served as the Dean of the Law Faculty of Punjab University, Former MP. This appointment is in addition to his charge as an Additional Solicitor General of India.
  • The President had constituted the 21st Law Commission of India In 2015 under the Chairmanship of retired Judge BS Chauhan.

V. Vaithilingam

  • Former Chief Minister V. Vaithilingam on June 10, 2016 was elected as Speaker of the 14th Puducherry Assembly.
  • Earlier, he served as a Chief Minister, leader of the opposition and he was elected unopposed as the new Deputy Speaker of the Assembly as he was the only candidate to submit nomination papers for the post.
  • He was the second youngest Chief Minister and he is the first Chief Minister of Puducherry, who has served the full five-year term till date.

Per Lodin

  • UN Secretary General Ban ki-Moon on June 9, 2016 appointed Swedish Major General Per Lodin as head the UN Military Observer Group in India and Pakistan (UNMOGIP) which monitors the situation in Kashmir.
  • Lodin is currently the head of Strategic Material Management at Forsvarets materielverk (FMV), the Swedish defence Ministry’s procurement and logistics arm.
  • He had earlier served as the head of the task force centre of Kosovo Force (KFOR), the multi-national peacekeeping mission led by NATO in 2006-07.
  • According to the Security Council mandate of 1971, UNMOGIP observes and reports on ceasefire violations along and across the Line of Control (LoC) and the working boundary between the South Asian neighbours in Jammu and Kashmir, as well as reports developments that could lead to ceasefire vlplations.

Navtn Agarwal

  • Senior IPS officer Nay in Agarwal was appointed Chief of National Anti-Doping Agency (NADA) for 5 years, on June 1, 2016. Earlier, he served in Jammu & Kashmir cadre as an IPS.
  • As signatory of Copenhagen Declaration on Anti Doping and UNESCO International Convention against Doping (February 1, 2007), NADA accepted the World Anti Doping Code on March 7, 2008 and framed the Anti Doping Rules (ADR) of NADA in conformity with the WADA’s code.
  • The government of India is one of the Foundation Members of World Anti Doping Agency (WADA) (1999-2002). WADA, which sets out standards in the fight against doping in sports, adopted the WADA Code on March 5, 2003 at Copenhagen (Denmark).
Updated: July 29, 2016 — 8:12 am

Most Recent Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current-Affairs © 2016 Developed by Current Affairs
error: Content is protected !!