What is CBSE Curriculum & Syllabus – 2020

CBSE (Central Board of Secondary Education) is an esteemed and the largest educational board that is spread across India as well to abroad branches. There are almost 17,300 Indian Institutes that are affiliated with CBSE and follow the same syllabus approved by the NCERT (National Council of Educational Research and Training).

What is CBSE Curriculum?

CBSE curriculum is a well- structured and controlled pattern to be followed in the respective syllabus of their standardized textbooks. For the 12th Grade students, it is mandatory to appear in board exams, for 10th Grade students it is optional. Also, it has been issued that no student can be declared fail till 8th Grade. In India, most of the entrance exams are conducted for college admissions based on the CBSE syllabus. Best cbse schools in Noida follow all the restrictions and guidelines by the board.

CBSE Syllabus 2020 

Primary Grade Syllabus from Class VI to X

Classes Subject I Subject II Subject III Subject IV
Class VI Mathematics English Social Sciences Science
Class VII Mathematics English Social Sciences Science
Class VIII Mathematics English Social Sciences Science
Class IX Mathematics English Social Sciences Science
Class X Mathematics English Social Sciences Science

Secondary Grade Syllabus from Class XI to XII

Classes Subject I Subject II Subject III Subject IV Subject V
Class XI Mathematics English Physics Chemistry Biology
Class XII Mathematics English Physics Chemistry Biology

 For secondary classes, curriculum focus on 7 basic areas including: (vary from school to school)

  • Science – Biology, Chemistry, Physics, ICT, Informative practices and Web & Multimedia studies.
  • Commerce- Accountancy, Mathematics, Business Studies, Economics, Entrepreneurship, and others.
  • Humanities- Geography, History, Home Science, Fine Arts, Sociology, Political Science, Fashion Studies and others.
  • Visual and Performing Arts- Crafts & Sculpture, Drama, Music, Art, Drawing and others.


In CBSE Curriculum, the assessment is done on two basis, first is the continuous assessment which is conducted throughout the year and is called as Formative Assessment (FA) and the other is the half-yearly examination which is conducted twice a year and is called as Summative Assessment (SA).

GPA Criteria followed by CBSE Curriculum

Grading is done based on the average performance of the student, for 10th and 12th class students both “marks obtained” and “grades” are mentioned.

Marks Range Grade Grade Point
91-100 A1 10
81-90 A2 9
71-80 B1 8
61-70 B2 7
51-60 C1 6
41-50 C2 5
33-40 D 4
21-32 E1
20 & Below E2

Syllabus for the session 2020-2021

For classes from 1st up to 8th standard, CBSE does not announce any fixed content in terms of the syllabus. From 9th class onwards CBSE issues a list of subjects, topics, and sub-topics on their official website for the latest academic year. Make sure to check the recent syllabus, as the CBSE curriculum is revised every year.

CBSE focuses on uplifting the academic standard of the country through its curriculum and syllabus with the introduction of the advanced methodology of teaching and learning.


Default image
Osheen Jain

Osheen is an avid reader and an experienced content writer from Bhopal. She has completed her B.E. in Electronics from RGPV University and her M.A. in Philosophy from University of Delhi.

Articles: 77

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.