News Orbit Current Affairs September 2015 (Part 5)

Zia Haider Rahman

  • Zia Haider Rahman, a Bangladeshi novelist has been awarded with Britain’s oldest literary prize, the James Tait Black award, at the Edinburgh international book festival, for his first novel, ‘In the Light of What We Know’ on August 17, 2015.
  • James Tait Black award is an annual literary award bestowed on person for literature written in the English language in UK. It was constituted in 1919 in memory of James Tait Black. The award carries a monetary prize of £ 10000.

Dilip Parulekar

  • Goa Tourism Minister Dilip Parulekar has been awarded with the PATWA an affiliate of United Nations WTO. i.e., Safari India South Asia Travel Award for the year 2015 under the category of Best Tourism Minister on August 7, 2015.
  • Safari India is a prestigious regional tourism magazine covering India, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Pakistan and South-East Asia.
  • It covers a wide range of topics on .tourism, aviation, travel agents, hotels, travel trade conferences, wildlife and environment.

Awards/Prizes Current Affairs


  • The UNESCO announced on September 1, 2015 that Sree Vadakkunnathan Temple, Thrissur (India) won the Asia Pacific Heritage Award for Cultural Heritage Conservation.
  • The award recognised the remarkable conservation effort undertaken at the sacred site which employed age-old rituals and conservation techniques drawn from vastu shastra focusing on architecture and construction.
  • Sree Vadakkunnathan Temple is an ancient Hindu temple located in Thrissur district of Kerala. It is dedicated to Shiva.
  • It is a classic example of the architectural style of Kerala and has Mural paintings depicting various episodes from Mahabharata.

Read Also – National Current Affairs August 2015 .

National Sports and Adventure Awards 2014-15

  • Pranab Mukherjee, President of India conferred National Sports and Adventure Awards on August 29, 2015 at a ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhawan.


Player Related Game
Sania Mirza Tennis

Arjuna Awards 2015

Name Discipline
Nayab Subedar Sandeep Kumar Archery
MR Poovamma Athletics
Kidambi Srikanth Nammalwar Badminton
Mandeep Jangra . Boxing
Rohit Sharma Cricket
Dipa Karmakar Gymnastic
Sreejesh PR Hockey
Manjeet Chhillar Kabaddi
Abhilasha Shashikant Mhatre Kabaddi
Sawarn Singh Rowing
Anup Kumar Yama Roller Skating
Jitu Rai Shooting
S. Sathish Kumar Weightlifting
Bajrang Wrestling
Babita Kumari Wrestling
Yumnam Sanathoi Devi Wushu
Sharath M. Gayakwad Para-Swimming

Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award 2014

Name Category
Arunima Sinha  Land Adventure
Jot Singh Land Adventure
Wg. Cdr. Paramvir Singh Water Adventure
Lt. Col. (Retd.) Satyendra Verma Air Adventure
Col. (Retd.) Satish Chander Sharma Life Time Achievement 

Dronacharya Award 2015

Coach Related Game
Naval Singh Athletics Para-sports
Anoop Singh Wrestling
Harbans Singh Athletics
Swatantar Raj Singh Boxing
Nihar Ameen Swimming

Dhyan Chand Award 2015

Player Related Game
Romeo James Hockey
Shiv Prakash Mishra Tennis
PP Nair Volleyball

Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar 2015

Institution For
Directorate. General of Military Training (DGMT) Identifying and nurturing of young talent in sports.
Coal India Limited (CIL) Encouraging sports through Corporate Social Responsibility.
Haryana State Police Employing sportspersons and sports welfare measures.
Sports Coaching Foundation (SCF) Development of sports.


Kerala State Film Awards 2014

  • State Minister of Kerala for Cinema, Thiruvanchoor Radhakrishnan announced Kerala Chalchitra awards 2014 in various categories at Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala.
  • Best Actor Award Nivin Pauly (Bangalore Days and 1983) and Sudev Nair (My Life Partner)
  • Best Actress Award Nasriya Naseem (0m Shanthi Hosana and Bangalore Days)
  • Best Male Playback Singer KJ Yesudas
  • Best Female Playback Singer Shreya Ghoshaal
  • Best Director Sanalkumar Sasidharan (Oraal Pokkam)

First Sunhak Peace Ptfze 2015

  • Noted Indian agriculture scientist Dr. Modadugu Vijay Gupta, who has done pioneering work in aquaculture in India,Bangladesh and several South-East Asian countries, was awarded the first Sunhak Peace Prize, billed as an alternative to the Nobel Peace Prize on August 28, 2015.
  • He shared the prize with the President of Kiribati Islands, Anote Tong. He was chosen for the award for his dogged fight to end the carbon emissions which are spelling doom for small island nations which are facing dire prospects of being engulfed by rising sea waters by 2050.
  • Gupta hailed from Bapatla in Andhra Pradesh. He is a biologist, also the recipient of the World Food Prize in 2005 for development and dissemination of low-cost techniques for freshwater fish farming.

Visit for latest current affairs, previous year question papers, free online quiz for SSC and others, Study material and lot more.

We hope you like News Orbit Current Affairs September 2015 (Part 5), give your feedback in comments.

Click Here to Register For Latest Current Affairs, Question Paper, Free online test Alert directly in Your Inbox.


Mansi Agarwal
Mansi Agarwal

Hey, I am Mansi Agarwal - owner of this site. I am basically from Lucknow. I did B.Tech and now working as a full time blogger. Blogging is my passion and my permanent job also. If you have any suggestion for the improvement of this site then feel free to tell me. You can connect with me on FB and Twitter for more updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *